Profile Linked To Social Media Account
Profile Verification Menu
Private Photo Access
SBL DATING FAQs
Most frequent questions and answers
All new users receive 3 days FREE of Super Powers
With this free trial you can enjoy all the paid features of the site before deciding if you want to pay for them or stay in free-mode when the time is up.
Super Powers allow you to hide ads, see who’s liked your profile, browse invisibly, search with advanced filter options and hide your profile. These features may be useful to some people but unnecessary for another.
All new users receive 250 FREE SBL Credits (150 upon sign up – 100 upon profile completion), these are the currency used on our platform, SBL Credits allow you to:
– Boost your profile (150 credits) in the searches (be seen by more singles!)
– Appear in the user spotlight (150 credits) (be seen by everybody in your search radius)
– Send messages ( 1 credit per message )
As you know, our platform is dedicated to helping black singles who are serious about finding love and marriage rather than simply hooking up. We found that when the amount of messages is limited (250 free credits = 250 messages) people are more selective about who they message and what they say in the message. Small talk is fun and all but this method prompts deeper conversation, less time wasting and lowers the engagement of people playing the numbers game. In addition, our voice and video calls are completely FREE to all users so it isn’t as if we are trying to limit you. We want you to make meaningful connections and that involves more personal means of communication – call him/her, video him/her, meet him/her – you can’t text forever!
You can see when your Super Powers run out by going to your settings. Additionally, you will receive an email stating when they have run out whether from your free trial or paid subscription.
You can turn on/off specific email notifications in your settings.
You can cancel your Super Powers subcription at any time from your PayPal dashboard, under the Subscription/Renewals section.
Here is a step by step guide:
SBL Dating is a membership platform, requesting to become a member means you agree to adhere to the rules of the platform. These are outlined in our terms and conditions. We reserve the right to terminate your membership at any time if you are found to be in violation of any of these terms and at SBL Dating’s own discretion. Multiple user reports and any use which may be considered harmful to the integrity of the platform may result in account termination with no option to appeal however, in some cases you may receive a warning strike.
You can change your email address and your password from your settings both on mobile and desktop.
You can delete your profile from your settings both on mobile and desktop. Scroll past the language settings until you can see the delete profile option.
Please do this before deleting the photos from your account ( a deleted profile is irreversible and includes photos and any media uploaded being removed from our server permanently)
If you have already deleted your photos then your account will automatically be deleted within 7 days due to inactivity.
Reminder: Deleting your profile will not end your PayPal subscription, please see above (1.4)
If you chose the wrong gender when you signed up you will have to request to have it changed via: email@example.com
The option to choose which gender you are interested in doesn’t exist as this site is geared towards heterosexual singles. When selecting your gender you are automaticlaly matched with members of the opposite sex.
There are many niche dating sites that exist today, each serving their own purpose. The purpose of Straight Black Love is to connect like-minded heterosexual singles of Afrikan descent hoping to build meaningful, lasting relationships and families; all of our content, events and workshops are geared towards #RebuildingTheBlackFamily, this is what the Straight Black Love busines model is built upon – this is our market. If this does not pull you or offends you, then SBL Dating is not for you – that’s okay – plenty of other niche sites out there 🙂
To change the county, city, town and/or distance click the search icon at the top and proceed to enter amendments.
You can change your username and location from your main profile page.
In order to upload profile photos directly from your phone, SBL Dating needs to access your photos.
If you declined access to your photos and wish to change that, go to the ‘Settings’ menu on your phone, navigate to SBL Dating, and enable photo access.
The advanced search feature is one of the features that you have access to if you have Super Powers enabled on your account. To use this feature, simply navigate to the match menu/search and scroll down to the ‘advanced search/extended search’ button.
You then have upto three filters you can add to your basic search.
For example. Practiced Religion, Children, Education.
To update your main profile picture, upload the new photo you wish to change it to then navigate to the photos tab on your profile, select the photo you wish to change it to.
Only photos which follow our guidelines will be approved and repeated uploads of failed photos that violate these requirements will result in the deletion of your account and in some cases a banned IP address.
– be clear (not blurry or a photo of a photo)
– be of you (not a celebrity, not a meme, not a caricature or drawing)
– show your face clearly
– not have any Snapchat type filters i.e animal ears etc.
– not have any children in it
– not contain any pornographic material
– not be of a group of people unless all of their faces are blurred out.
Please only upload photos which most accurately represent you. In the event that you use photo filters, this may be noticed by one of our moderators resulting in the photo being declined. For best practices please use unedited photos of yourself as you would like other users to use photos which accurately represent them also.
The graphs represent the match percentages you share with the other person based on how you have both filled out your profile.
Your graph is automatically generated depending on who is viewing your profile and in the same way that you can see others’ they can see your.
In order for this feature to be really useful in matching it is recommended that all users complete their profiles.
Your search results may be limited due to the questionnaire you complete during the sign up process. If people have not completed their profile to answer those questions, they will not show up. To ensure you do not miss any potential matches it is best to clear these filters using the ‘Extended Search’ function.
You can unlike them by visiting their profile and clicking the like button or star button.